Dungeon Tiles WIP Part One

As I’ve already stated in Winter is Coming, October is nearly upon us and that means the temperature will be dropping outside. As I’ve stated before that means no spray-painting and no priming.

As I can do the detail painting on things inside during cold weather, my new priority crafting wise is getting stuff to the point where I can black-blast (prime and base-coat with black spray-paint). Right now I’m working on Dungeon Tiles.

I’ve already shown the tiles I did up for my second set here (my first set does not bear so much as an honorable mention, as they were horrible). While these single 3-inch-square pieces are nicely detailed and can be used to make uncommon configurations, a few dozen of these does not an easy dungeon system make.

My solution? Use the tile method employed by The DMG. Here is a list of what I have black-blasted so far:

  • Single-Square Corridors x3
  • Single-Square descending spiral staircase x1 (not sure if I wanna keep this one as it was an experiment)
  • 1 x 2 Corridors x 7
  • 1×3 Corridors x 5
  • Corner pieces (2×2 footprint) x 5
  • T-Junction (2×3 Footprint) x2
  • 4-way Intersection (3×3 footprint) x1
  • 2×2 Stair Case (can be used as ascending or descending the way I used over-lapping card-stock to simulate stairs) x1
  • 2×2 Single Entrance room x4 (a pair of two variations)
  • 2×2 Dual Entrance Room x2 (one each of two variations)

I initially used Cardstock to cover my walls, but that was getting to be too much of a pain in the ass, so I switched to foil and hot glue. That has become far too time consuming, so I am experimenting with a Trimmer Tool to cut thin strips of paper that I will glue down to the wall sections with PVA (Elmer’s) glue.

Here is a Foiled Tile (unpainted):

And here is a WIP papered:

I’m also thinking of trying Toilet paper and glue to hide the corrugation.. but I’m hoping it doesn’t come to that. For now I will do a few tiles using the strips of paper (taken from recycled junk-mail – yay recycling!). I will let you all know how that goes later, and maybe do a review of my new Paper Trimmer!

For now I have some boxes to rip down and start turning into tiles now. Will post more tomorrow.

