The Grinning Skull Archives – Carniverous Plant WIP

You can find the OP here.

I was sorting through some old fishtank bits and junk from my shed a week or two ago, I was going to chuck a load of stuff, but just in case there was anything useful that I’d forgot about, I checked throught it all the same. Amongst the grotty unused bits there were some cracking bits ripe for conversion in my models and projects, this plastic ornament was just crying out for it to be made into something weird and alien!

Image

I set to work yesterday about creating a bit of alien plant flora terrain, the “feed me” kind of carniverous plant to use in sci-fi games. I love the tentacled anemone/urchin look, but reckoned it would need a bit of milliput to take it from bowl to goal!! I stuck it to a clear CD divider (A normal CD would have done, but it was the first bit I laid my hands on!) and started to sculpt some extra bits with my last dregs of putty. To make matters worse, it was starting to go off, so the time I had to use it was less than 15 minutes, I wanted to spend a bit of time on it, but it was my last bit and there wasn’t too much of it, so I was lucky it looked as ok as it did.

ImageImage

ImageImage

I added tentacles, eyes/blobs and small creepy tentacled masses to the base to simulate other smaller colonies of the organism spreading from the parent plant. In the centre of the tentacled feeding maws on the top of the ornament, I added a toothed eyeless mouth to each, with the largest one getting an open mouth with a long tentacled tongue. I had ran out of putty at this point, so the teeth in this mouth were made from the end of wooden BBQ kebab sticks chopped off. Not ideal but Ok. After it had dried and set overnight, I just gave it a green/black/brown undercoat a couple of times all over (plant and base) Then it was just a case of painting it up. I used colour starting from the tentacles with green going up to dark aqua colour, then blues blended to purple, then up to red and orange in the middle. I am still to attack it with inks and washes, shading and a few highlights, then varnish and basing (which will have a few extra bits to fill the gaps, but so far i’m pretty happy with the results so far, here’s the photos so far

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

Its inspired me to maybe make quite a few in different sizes and variety, and then I can use them for Lustrian deadly man eaters for warhammer games (That will probably mean I’ll have to get a Lizardman army to justify it…) Death world terrain for 40K, but mainly I will be using stuff like this for my 15mm games of all types (its pretty versitile as it goes, it can fit in to tons of different games and genres) I might even see if I can make a plant based alien force as it might look good as an actual giant behemoth plant (after all, it could move around, its got tentacles…) the uses are endless (well wargames wise) I’ll finish it tomorrow and give you all an update on the finished plant. As ever leave any comments if you have any suggestions, maybe some ideas for some good existing ranges of figures that would go with it (any scale) especially if you know of any plant type troops that’s out there.

TTFN

