Monster Tutorial – The Chimera

Alright, I’ve had this one in the works for the past 5 months. It’s time to write out the damned tutorial and post it. Especially since this is my Craft War entry for April.

 

My Chimeras are made from 2 Gazelles and 2 Lions from a $3 Jungle Animals pack I got from Walmart, and 2 Velociraptors from a Dinosaur bucket (also from Walmart).

I started by cutting the heads off of the Gazelles and the Raptors, and trimming down the horns of the gazelles.

Chimera Build 2

Chimera Build 1

Next, using my dremel, some wire and E-6000, I embedded the heads into the Lion’s body at the neck. I also dremelled out some slots in the back for the wings (taken from some Mage-Knight Minis.
Chimera Build 3Chimera Build 4Chimera Build 5
Chimera Build 6Chimera Build 8Chimera Build 7

The next step was using some Flexible Modeling Paste to hide the join points with a bushy mane.

Chimera Build 9

At this point, all that is left to do is paint, as you can see below.
Chimera Paint 001Chimera Paint 002Chimera Paint 003
Chimera Final (4)Chimera Final (3)Chimera Final (5)
Chimera Final (6)Chimera Final (2)Chimera Final (1)

All in All, I’m very pleased with the end results.

Interestingly enough, Dave O’Gara from Miniature Mashup did a video on how to make a Chimera, using similar methods.

 

